Click here for search results

Related Sites

Global Economic Prospects 2005: Trade, Regionalism and Development

World Bank Research


World Bank Trade


Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

ECOWAS is a regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in "all fields of economic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial matters, social and cultural issues ....."


Economic Commission of Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

Established in 1948, ECLAC (CEPAL in Spanish) is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded for the purposes of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic relationships among the countries and with the other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives.


African Development Bank Group (ADB)

The African Development Bank Group is a multinational development bank supported by 77 nations from Africa, North and South America, Europe and Asia.  Established in 1964, its mission is to promote economic and social development through loans, equity investments, and technical assistance.


Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

A long-standing initiative of the Latin American countries, the Inter-American Development Bank was established in 1959 as a development institution with novel mandates and tools. Its lending and technical cooperation programs for economic and social development projects went far beyond the mere financing of economic projects that was customary at the time.


World Trade Organization (WTO)

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. This website presents news, trade topics, resources, documents, and community forums of the World Trade Organization, a global organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.


United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Established in 1964, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) aims at the development-friendly integration of developing countries into the world economy.


South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

SAARC was established when its Charter was formally adopted on December 8, 1985 by the Heads of State or Government of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. SAARC provides a platform for the peoples of South Asia to work together in a spirit of friendship, trust and understanding. It aims to accelerate the process of economic and social development in Member States.


Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

ASEAN was established in 1967 and today includes Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore,  Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar, and Cambodia. The aims and purposes of the Association are: (i) to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian nations, and (ii) to promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries in the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.




Permanent URL for this page: